Recent Searches
Clear

Self Guided Classic Freedom Trail Location Aware (GPS) Walking Audio Tour

|
Boston, United States
Self Guided Classic Freedom Trail Location Aware (GPS) Walking Audio Tour
Special Offer

From $5.34

$5.75  Save $0.41

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 to 3 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 3 more

Overview

Saved to wishlist!
Virtual Tour - Listen to the tour after walking in person anytime.
GPS guided solo walking tour of the Freedom Trail on the WalknTours app - Never expires
See the sites along the Freedom Trail from the Boston Common to the Hay Market
You'll see the Granary Burial Ground, Omni Parker, Old State House, Old South, Faneuil Hall and more
Explore the North End, Boston's Little Italy, Paul Revere's house, Old North and Copps Hill
Explore Charlestown, Bunker Hill, USS Constitution
No in person guide, this is a smart phone navigated tour on the WalknTours app
Boston Common Visitors Center , 139 Tremont St, Boston, MA 02111, USA

All visitors will use the WalknTours app to take the tour. When you get to the Boston Common Visitors Center, open the WalknTours app, login/register your account, open the "Freedom Trail Experience part 1" tour, click purchase and use the Experience code to unlock the tour.

5/27/2020 - 6/13/2023
Monday - Sunday:12:00 AM - 11:30 PM
USS Constitution , 93 Chelsea St, Charlestown, MA 02129, USA

The tour ends at the USS constitution just outside of the ship.

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY WalknTours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Self Guided Classic Freedom Trail Location Aware (GPS) Walking Audio Tour?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Self Guided Classic Freedom Trail Location Aware (GPS) Walking Audio Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Self Guided Classic Freedom Trail Location Aware (GPS) Walking Audio Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Self Guided Classic Freedom Trail Location Aware (GPS) Walking Audio Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "This is a very deceptive app… I paid seven dollars for the app, ,Started the tour, and learned that the first three stops were free, but the remaining eight stops I had to pay an additional $4.99… Outrageous!" See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
33 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 33 reviews
star-5
Great way to explore Boston at your own pace
Nicole_A
, May 2022
I read reviews of guided walking tours offered on viator and a lot mentioned that they didnt cover the full freedom trail. I went for this self guided tour instead, which does cover the whole trail. Very informative and i love that you can do it at your own pace. Took me about 6 hours because i stopped in at some of the sites, had lunch etc. was a great way to spend a day in Boston. If you are in a time crunch you could do this in about 2 hours. 10/10
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for the great review of our Freedom Trail Tour!!! Look for our tours, on the WalknTours app, all around the USA :)
star-1
We were by the north end,...
Patricia_M
, May 2022
We were by the north end, Hanover street. We tried to start from somewhere else in the app, not from first stop but would not let us. We would have had to trek past sites to start at the beginning. We did not use the app. We even tried to download a north end version but wanted us to start at the same place so I wasted even more money
icon Response from Host , May 2022
To start at any stop all you have to do is select that location and click "Go to Tour Stop", then the tour starts at that stop. So you can do that, easy. This is a location aware (GPS) tour, so it tells the story of where you are. It sounds like you might not have allowed location permissions? The North End Freedom Trail Part 2 starts at the Tony Demarco statue, 1000's have taken that tour and it started for them :) . If you could email us with the issue and more info, I'm happy to help! I'm sorry it did not work out for you. But the tour 100% works and lots of visitors say they love it. ***UPDATE It looks like after publishing my response, you took the tour, great job! A group of your friends all started the tour in the North End. Thanks!
star-4
Great way to see Boston
Erin_J
, Apr 2022
Great day walking at my own pace. I like the option to Dig Deeper if want to. The narration is entertaining. The app kept backing up to previous stops which was frustrating. All in all, though, I definitely prefer this to touring with a group!
star-5
Great self guided tour
Justin_S
, Mar 2022
Great navigation prompts as you are waking. Great historical information. It is easy to pause and restart where you left off. Can go as basic or as in depth as you wish.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you for the great review! We love the Freedom Trail. As you know this tour goes to the Freedom Trail and more stopping by JFK's old home, Ben Franklin's Birthplace, plenty of stops in Little Italy/The North End, and the oldest bar were Paul Revere used to hang, all these sites are not on traditional Freedom Trail tours. Thanks again for the great review!
star-5
I felt like I knew the...
Megan_M
, Feb 2022
I felt like I knew the most about the sites I was seeing compared to other tourist walking on their own with brochures, etc. The authentic voices the tour is read in really brought me into the scene! Loved this way to enjoy a city.
star-4
Tour on Your Pace
Mohini_G
, Oct 2021
It was a great experience doing the trail on my own n learning the history of Boston. The guide was up to date with today’s landmark of current stores in the old spot. I did get a bit lost n turned around at times but overall had a wonderful time. Would definitely recommend.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Disgraceful
Peggy_B
, Oct 2021
This is by far the biggest rip off I have ever lived through I read all the directions. The email address put on the site was not accessible I went to the tourist booth on Boston Commons. they could not figure it out. The guide there worked with me for a half an hour. She of course was not Able to make heads or tails out of it. It was disgraceful it’s so misleading and she said you’re dealing with a third-party here and so it’s hard to figure out what they want. so we of course did not use the tour it was totally unavailable to us. You should fold up your tent and go home
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Ouch! This sounds like our competitor :( There is plenty of opportunity for both of us to be successful in the mobile walking tours industry, no need to make false claims about our technology that thousands of other people have seamlessly enjoyed. For potential bookers reading this review, please know we are a team of 2 answering phones and email as close to 24/7 as possible. we hope you’ll reach out for ANY issue before getting this frustrated 617 991 3269 or info@walkntours.com
star-1
Didn’t know and wasn’t...
Rose_A
, Oct 2021
Didn’t know and wasn’t told that this was not a guided tour! Horrible, never used it or went on it! Nobody wants a guided tour on your phone and I paid for four people if I had known I would have only gotten one ticket!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Sorry this experience is not what you were looking for. We do our best in the title and description to make clear that this is a solo gps, self guided tour on your phone, on the WalknTours app, We understand this experience is not for everyone, but those that take it love it and often take additional tours. Your purchase never expires so we hope you'll give us a try. Enjoy :) The WalknTours app offers solo tours navigated by your smart phone. Go at your own pace, on your own schedule and on your own terms. It's like a real life tour guide, only it's on your phone, way more convenient and a better story teller.
star-1
We arrived where we were...
Cody_J
, Sep 2021
We arrived where we were suppose to go and entered the word given into the app and the app wouldn’t work.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Sorry to hear that! The experience code is in step 3 of the booking email. For this tour you purchased the 3 tours in one package and need to click on the "City Tour Package" in the WalknTours app and enter the experience code there to unlock all 3 tours. Feeling sad you missed out on this fun solo smart phone navigated tour in Boston :(. If you ever run into an issue text or call me at 617-991-3269 and I'm here to help! Or email at info@walkntours.com.
star-3
The tour itself was good.
Karen_M
, Sep 2021
The tour was great but don’t buy it through aviator. The interface is too confusing. Go directly to the app and purchase. It took me the better part of an hour and a phone call to the app help line to get it to work.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thanks for using the WalknTours app! The benefit of buying on Viator is you'll save big, nearly 50%! This tour is $8 on Viator and $14.99 if you buy directly on the WalknTours app. As we spoke on the phone you had an issue using the experience code. To take the tour you will. 1. Get the WalknTours App 2.. Register your account 3. Choose Boston and select the City Tour Package. Then use the experience code in your booking email to unlock the tour. The whole process take a few minutes :) And as always, if you have questions you can contact us at 61-991-3269 or email us at info@walkntours.com. Thank you for taking our tour!
star-1
App. Not user friendly
Anthony_S
, Aug 2021
App not user friendly. You pay 7.99 then u paid 5.99 from the tour. Will not recommend this to anybody.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Yikes! I see you did not read your booking email :( The booking email includes the instructions and experience code to unlock 3 tours in the WalknTours app (a $17.97) for $7.99. So you actually saved nearly $10 on the tour. As mentioned in the booking "Do not purchase in the app. Please use the Experience Code in the booking email." Also, you can write me anytime or call me (as mentioned in the email) info@walkntours.com or 617-991-3269, I'm here to help :) The Booking email includes the instructions. 1. Get the WalknTours App 2. use the Experience code to unlock the tour. 3. Go to the Boston Common Visitors Center and press "start experience". I hope this helps and you can unlock the tours and take it later :). You were not ripped off. You were not cheated. Please ask next time before writing this kind of review. We are small businesses (often only one person) working really hard to provide our customers with great local experiences. We work really really hard to do this. And 100's of travelers have written reviews that they love this tour, so it hurts when you write a terrible review and you did not even take the tour :(
star-5
Great tour!
Lorie_B
, Aug 2021
Did the whole trail. Loved being able to stop and start and the dig deeper options.. Learned revolutionary history and enjoyed visiting the food stores in th North End
star-1
No experience code provided
Michael_M
, Jul 2021
Do you not use this service. The walking tours audio that I purchased asks for an experience code. Wietor never provided me with an experience code. Don’t waste your money.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi, the code is in the ticket / booking email. The tickets shows 4 steps to take the tour. The code is in Step 3 of the instructions. 1. Get the WalknTours app on the App Store or Google Play. 2. Register 3. Use the experience code provided in your email to unlock the tour. 4. Go to the Boston Common visitors center and press start experience. Sorry you missed the code. I did see you did take the Freedom Trail Tour and gave it a 5 star rating after taking it, so thank you for that! In addition you did email me asking about the code and 2 minutes later I replied with the booking instructions and the code to unlock the tour. Thanks for using WalknTours!
star-5
Very informative tour.
Carita_F
, Jul 2021
The tour was great. Very informative. A wonderful way to learn about The Freedom Trail. The narrator was funny and has provided a vast array of information in a clear and sometimes humorous way.
star-5
Listen and Learn
Donna_H
, Jul 2021
A wealth of information! I so enjoyed the opportunity to stop and explore further when I wanted to. I liked the different narrators. They added authenticity to the experience. The GPS “find me” did not always work. I enjoyed this experience so much more than a traditional guided tour. This tour was money well spent!
star-1
Disappointed
Kathy_O
, Apr 2021
Unfortunately we did not have the educational experience we hoped for. Spent the entire time downloading on our phone instead of working. Gave up after 20 minutes and went for cannolis.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
Sorry to hear that Kathy, we have so many happy users we are sad to hear this happened. This issue was more than likely due to lack of memory on your phone. I'll be sure to include a note in the booking instructions that if users are facing download challenges to make sure the memory on their phone is sufficient. Also we suggest in all our booking details and in the app to download the tour before going. Cellular signals can be unpredictable and this could have been a thing with Verizon/ATT, some don't work well in Boston :) Thanks for the feedback! Sorry again. I issued a you a refund. I hope next time you'll give us another chance and you enjoy the tour.
star-5
Excellent tour
Ana_R
, Mar 2021
Excellent tour option!! Loved that I could go at my own speed, stop and go as I wanted. Also great for people that want to start a little later or whatever is better with their schedule. The actual information during the tour was great!! Also fun that they don’t make it monotone by using the different characters! Will definitely be using again. Excellent tour
icon Response from Host , Mar 2021
Thank you for the great review and love to hear that you had a great experience! You made our day :). We are looking forward to sharing more experience, launching this week in Savannah, Charleston and New Orleans.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
Not Detailed Enough
Stephen_B
, Dec 2020
I thought the stories of the historical sights was very limited and geared to elementary school children. I was expecting far more in depth stories about each sight. Just basic information. Was not up to my expectations
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Thanks for your feedback! Did you try the Dig Deeper extensions? These are opt in extensions off the main tour that go into more detail about each story with different character narrators, and visitors say great things. Our tours are designed to be between 40 to 60 minutes (the most popular tour length). 40 minutes is with no dig deepers, 60 plus minutes if the visitor opts in to all the dig deepers. The comples Boston Freedom Trail tour package (3 tours: 1. Historic Boston 2. The North End 3. Charlestown) is advertised at 1 hour and 30 mins, which the tour exceeds. Sorry we did not meet your expectations! We will clarify the details in the description. Also we do have a new Charlestown version launching in Dec 2020, and we will will look into adding more Dig Deepers! Any suggestions on topics?
star-3
Nice but deceptive
Michael_B
, Oct 2020
This is a very deceptive app… I paid seven dollars for the app...,Started the tour, and learned that the first three stops were free, but the remaining eight stops I had to pay an additional $4.99… Outrageous!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2020
Hi! Thanks for the feedback! The first 3 stops are free on each tour so visitors can try the tour free of charge, for the first 3 stops. If they like it, they then can continue by purchasing the tour. It's much like how an audio book has a free section (10 minutes, or set chapters) so the listener can test it before buying, or any product that has a sample/free test. Sorry for the confusion! I'll be sure to add clear language on that so it's understood. Thank you for the feedback! I hope you enjoyed the tour! If you have any questions I would love to help! Also, this tour bundle has 3 tours for $7.99 (a $14.97 value).
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Nice Boston afternoon on the historic July 4th weekend
daniel_m
, Aug 2020
Great tour, very easy to follow the directions. Interesting information narrated in a humorous and entertaining way by character actors, it often made you feel like you were right in Revolutionary era Boston. I especially liked that they told you exactly where to cross the streets and made sure you remembered to be safe! I really liked it.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Hi! Thank you for the review! Great to hear you enjoyed the experience using WalknTours, the content and your time in Boston!

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Self Guided Classic Freedom Trail Location Aware (GPS) Walking Audio Tour
Special Offer
Self Guided Classic Freedom Trail Location Aware (GPS) Walking Audio Tour

star-433

2 to 3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$5.75 $5.34

star-48

1 hour 24 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$5.00

star-4.519

2 hours 40 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$6.99

star-51

15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$5.00

star-4.53

28 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$5.00

star-555

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$28.50

star-4.5339

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$26.00

star-4.5143

1 hour 10 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$30.00

star-4.569

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$45.00

Explore Similar Things to Do