Recent Searches
Clear

Martha's Vineyard Day Trip with Optional Island Tour from Boston

star-4.5115 Reviews
|
Boston, United States
Martha's Vineyard Day Trip with Optional Island Tour from Boston

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon11 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Visit Martha’s Vineyard on a day trip from Boston to experience the island beauty without the hassle of booking ground and ferry transport. From hotel pickup and drop-off to included ferry tickets, snacks, water, and sightseeing maps, this Martha’s Vineyard excursion is designed for maximum time exploring, with the option to upgrade and include a guided tour of the entire island aboard a high-top, small-group van and explore all six towns on the island, indulge in lunch, and spend more time learning about scenic New England.
  • Ground and boat transport get you to the Vineyard with one booking
  • Customizable tour: choose between independent and guided options
  • Early departure for more time on Martha’s Vineyard
  • Ferry trip is a great chance to see the coast and marine wildlife
Saved to wishlist!
Snacks
Bottled water
maps
Discount food card
Driver/guide
Live commentary on board
Hotel pick-up and drop-off
Ferry Tickets
Island tour only available as an add-on
Food and drinks on the ferry and the island are up to the traveler unless specified otherwise

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

6:30 AM
If you are not staying at a greater Boston hotel you may be asked to meet at one of the many pickup points within the city. The tour coordinator will contact you 24 hours in advance to make arrangements. Thanks!
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • A maximum of 28 people per booking.
  • Not wheelchair accessible, very sorry for the inconvenience
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Guest may be asked to meet at a different location other than the hotel listed. This is to ensure smooth and timely departure from Boston.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 28 travelers
  • OPERATED BY New England Excursions
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Martha's Vineyard Day Trip with Optional Island Tour from Boston?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Martha's Vineyard Day Trip with Optional Island Tour from Boston.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Take the additional 3 hour tour on the island to get a good overview and see the highlights." See review
  • "I would highly recommend doing the add-on for the 3 hour guided tour so that you are able to hit all the highlights of the Island, especially if this might be your first and only trip to Martha's Vineyard." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
115 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 115 reviews
star-3
Disappointing. On the...
Susan_A
, May 2022
Disappointing. On the drive to the ferry, no map, no water/snacks as promised. The driver did not say one word and played noisy radio stations There was trash in the van, old newspaper on the floor, used tissue in my cup holder etc so much for sanitizing He dropped us at the ferry and said it departed in an hour. No tour around Woods Hole or saw the Nobsku lighthouse as promised On the 3 hr island tour again no water/snack 2 very brief stops with no opportunity to buy water etc then back to the harbor with 2hrs to spare,a lot of places closed seasonally One of the people on the tour called the company and complained , on the return journey we were provided with Gatorade (?) and chips, who needed it then? Won’t recommend this tour
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi David and Karen. Thanks for writing in. I’m sorry you didn’t find the day to your liking. Unfortunately, much of your review is false. We ALWAYS have maps, water, snacks and clean vehicles. I know for a fact my drivers and vehicles are kept to the highest standard. It was in fact you that called me on your way down to the ferry and we spoke about how your morning was going. Sometimes it’s difficult to go to the Nobska if we are time crunched ie guest aren’t on time for pickup, traffic, weather, etc. Please be sure to reach out next time you’re in Boston and we’ll be happy to dazzle you with another 5 star tour. Thanks
star-2
The gingerbread houses ...
settachat
, May 2022
The gingerbread houses In Oakland were architectural beautiful and colorful Each house was unique ok
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Loved the MV driving...
Mark_S
, Apr 2022
Loved the MV driving tour. Our driver, Harry was great! The weather was beautiful, couldn’t ask for a better experience on MV.
star-5
Martha's Vineyard
Haolis_A
, Apr 2022
From pick up at our hotel and tour at Martha's Vineyard this activity was wonderful. Harry our guide at the Vineyard was spectacular!!
star-4
Great trip !!
Maureen_M
, Sep 2021
This was a great trip. Make sure you book the 3 hour island ahead of time. You can do the tour and still have time to shop and eat a lobster roll !!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Matt was an awesome tour...
Kellie_T
, Sep 2021
Matt was an awesome tour guide. He is both friendly and helpful. I enjoyed his company along the way. Martha’s Vineyard is a must see! Just do it!!! Hello
star-5
You can’t go wrong with this one
Leslie_H
, Sep 2021
This was a marvelous trip. The narrative on the drive was excellent. Interesting, informative, fun. The van was clean and had a nice temperature… Sometimes they are freezing cold or too hot. The microphone was almost unnoticeable that it was a microphone it just gave a good clear audio that everyone heard evenly and wasn’t loud or crackly or weird in anyway. The windows were big and good for viewing. The guide was a lifetime resident and loved his city/area. I opted as did the rest of the group for the island tour add-on. Two people hadn’t signed up and our guide got them on/reserved so they were set up when they arrived. That tour as well was fantastic. Nonstop narrative… Nonstop in a good way, Also buy a lifetime resident of the island. I’ve worked in the tourist industry and there was nothing cheesy, unprofessional or eyerolling about this company. Its what you want it to be on all scores
star-1
No back up driver
Gary_C
, Sep 2021
None trip cancelled. Driver didn’t show. Poor excuse. Won’t use Viator again must not of had enough people signed up for trip liars. Hard time contacting them before trip. Didn’t notify me till 6 pm day before for a pick up time.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
:( we had a full van that day. I hired a new driver whom I thought I could trust. Gave him the keys to the van along with the schedule and he called me at 0530 saying he wasn’t coming in. Absolutely nothing I could do about it. So very sorry guys! As you may know, it’s hard to find good help these days. This was a very valuable lesson I learned in trusting new employees. I’m sorry it happened at your expense. Of course a full refund was issued and I’ll never make that mistake again.
star-1
I have no pictures to...
Vickie_S
, Sep 2021
I have no pictures to share because our tour was canceled at 6am for a 7am scheduled pickup. Poor way to do business. Disappointed 7 women on a girls trip.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
I’m so very sorry my friends! The situation was out of my control. I promise I learned my lesson in trusting other people to rely on. Won’t happen again!!
star-1
No go
Gary_C
, Sep 2021
Trip was cancelled. Driver did not show up. Why not have back up drivers. Probably cancelled because not enough people paid. Liars.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Hi, back up drivers along with primary drivers are hard to come by these days. Unfortunately, nobody wants to work :( I thought I could trust the driver on schedule for that morning, turns out I was wrong. So very sorry for the mishap.
star-5
Don’t miss out! Take it.
Amily_H
, Sep 2021
Such a great tour guide, Matt! Knowledgeable and funny all in one! Would highly recommend. Drive to ferry was ab 1.5 hours, ferry was 45 mins.
star-5
A Romantic Trip
Ryan_D
, Aug 2021
The trip helps you fall in love with this beautiful island. The guides are well equipped to answer all your questions and set the tome right before you get on the ferry by providing all the necessary context to introduce you to the beauty of Matha’s Vineyard. Highly recommended!
star-5
Great Day Trip to Martha's Vineyard
Paul_S
, Aug 2021
The views around Martha's Vineyard. The return ferry ride from Martha's Vineyard in the afternoon. Lunch on the Harbor side. The tour around Martha's Vineyard with Harry! He was very knowledgeable. The drive from Boston to Martha's Vineyard and back with Matthew. He gave us lots of information. Both tour guides were great!
star-5
Fantastic Day on Martha’s Vineyard
Terri_D
, Aug 2021
The day trip to Martha’s Vineyard was fabulous. Our driver Mathew was very accommodating and extremely knowledgeable. If you’re looking for a educational drive from Boston to the ferry than this is for you. We decided not to take the tour on the island but opted for renting E-Bikes instead. An easy way to see the island on your own. Thank you Mathew for being a great tour guide. Also thank you for serving our country. We appreciate you!
star-5
Best day of our trip!
Nada_D
, Aug 2021
Matt was very reliable and knowledgeable driving us to ferry. He offered water and snacks. We loved being picked up and dropped off at our hotel. On Martha's Vineyard, Harry promptly picked us up. Being almost a native, he knew the history and celebrity residents of the island. I especially liked stopping at Aquinah Indian souvenir market. I would definitely recommend taking the island tour as well.
star-5
mix up
Daryl_P
, Aug 2021
Matt was a good guide. We had a mix up with the guided portion but he refunded our money. Make sure you realize that the first part is just a ride. You need to schedule the guided portion of the Martha’s Vineyard trip which is extra. We paid for it but Matt did not have us on his list.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hey Daryl, Thanks for the 5-star review and I apologize for the tour mix-up portion. Please understand that sometimes the island tour option sells out very fast. If a reservation is made late, I cannot guarantee seating. Because the island is terribly busy this time of year, I was very limited in my options of getting you another tour. I did refund your tour option and was able to get you into another company’s tour. I do greatly apologize it was not with my affiliate partner, but at least you got to see the whole island. Please come see me next time you’re in town and I’ll discount a new trip for you. Best, Matthew H New England Excursions 617-706-5284
star-3
Don’t use Tim for MV 3 hour tour
John_L
, Aug 2021
Matt our driver to the ferry was fine no issues but I would NOT recommend the optional 3 hour island tour on MV. It was a total waste.. tour guide Tim was very defensive when asked if he provided water since we had no way of getting any.. he had the pedal to the metal the entire time around the island since we arrived 15 min late from ferry… stops were short, uneventful and stressful.. he was so impatient with us and made for a very uncomfortable tour on MV. If you need to get to ferry, Matt does fine with getting you there, but don’t waste you time with the add on MV 3 hour tour it ruined the whole trip. I wish I could rate just add on tour but this was offered together and unfortunately does not reflect well on company as a whole. It was a hot day and we could not even buy water anywhere till end of trip. It would not be that difficult to have bottles of water on trip for passengers for the price of the add on tour. Tim never even told us his name at beginning of trip.. he handled the whole tour horribly.btw… we were speeding around the island too which made ALL of us uncomfortable..
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hey John, I appreciate your feedback with the island tour add-on. I agree with all points; tour moved too fast, guide was rude, he had no water for you. Even though that is not my company I take full responsibility for their actions since it’s a direct reflection of me. For the reasons listed above, everyone was given a full refund. In regards to “Tim”, the guide on the island, he was let go. Not to defend this situation by any means, but the struggle many companies are having is finding good help. JP was the actual name of that guide, he said he had many years of experience, he did go through training believe it or not, and was signed off upon to run his own tours. He made some crucial mistakes this day and it cost him his job. I know we always prefer a good experience over money back, but hopefully that along with comfort of knowing JP is no longer with the company will set you and future travelers at ease. Best, Matthew H New England Excursions 617-706-5284
star-5
Great Way to see Martha's Vineyard
Shannon_W
, Aug 2021
Book this tour, you will be happy you did. Matt was amazing, he was on time, knowledgable about Boston and Martha's Vineyard. He was funny and made us feel worry free about getting back and forth to Martha's Vineyard. He provided the ferry schedule with the times highlighted which made for easy reference for a reminder of what ferry to take. He also has mad driving skills to get us through some gnarly Massachusetts traffic. Thanks Matt for working hard to provide us with a stress free, knowledgable visit to Boston and Martha's Vineyard.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great Day
Jeanne_M
, Aug 2021
Thank you Matt for a great day. Lobster roll at Seafood Shanty was amazing. JUst enough to convince me to come back again!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
Started good, ended in disappointment. 3-hour tour a waste of time.
Matt_K
, Aug 2021
It started out pretty good with a nice drive to Fallmouth to catch the shuttle, After we arrived at the island, that is when things went bad. There was confusion where to meet our driver. Once we were all in the van, we started the island tour, but the presentation was canned and very cold. Also, we were treated like little kids when a question was asked, the driver would make a crude remark back to us. The worst part about the tour was when I asked if we were going to stop at Edgartown, and was told, "Yes, we were", but we never did. Very disappointing, as this was really the only place we actually wanted to get out and walk around at. It is fine if you don't stop there, but don't tell us you are and then not do it. Also, it mentioned in the details that lunch would be provided, but it never was, also a big disappointment. Would not do the 3 hour island tour next time, a total waste of money. Will take the bus to the areas we actually want to visit.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I spoke with the tour company on Martha’s Vineyard yesterday to get a better understanding of what exactly happened. New regulations have been handed down by the town of Oaks bluff so parking is an issue not only for the company you rode with, but for EVERYONE. Because it is new, kinks in the system are being worked out. From my understanding, the driver called you ahead of time and told you where to meet him. In terms of the presentation, your driver has apologized for the lack of enthusiasm. He said he was training a new employee who was voice recording the tour so he could study later. Edgartown is not a stop along this tour, it never had been. The guy that you it was, was the new hire and he should not have said that. Nowhere in any details on any platform that this tour is offered on does it mention lunch is provided. In fact, on all platforms, it says “lunch is of the guest responsibility.” I’m sorry if there was any confusion in regards to this information. Thanks again!!

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Martha's Vineyard Day Trip with Optional Island Tour from Boston
Martha's Vineyard Day Trip with Optional Island Tour from Boston

star-4.5115

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$110.00

star-4.51214

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$110.00

star-4.570

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$145.00

star-4.545

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$89.00

star-4.57

5 hours 40 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$117.00

star-56

3 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$299.00

star-57

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$110.00

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$224.75

Explore Similar Things to Do